19 names of anti-dictatorship heroes affixed to Bantayog ‘wall of remembrance’

Along side with the mass protest held during Bonifacio day, another 19 names were identified and added to the list of heroes and martyrs during the Martial Law under the regime of the late President Ferdinand Marcos etched at the wall of remembrance at the Bantayog ng mga Bayani in Quezon City, November 30.

Former Senator Wigberto Tañada, head of Bantayog ng mga Bayani Foundation pointed out the importance of these legit heroes opposing the hero’s burial given to the late president Marcos in a ceremony held remembering the 153rd birth anniversary of Andres Bonifacio.

"Kaisa po at sinusuportahan ng Bantayog ang paninindigan ng maraming Filipino na si Ferdinand Marcos ay hindi bayani. Marcos is no hero," Tañada said in his speech.

The former senator encouraged everyone to acknowledge and remember the 19 real heroes who realy fought and helped in attaining democracy during the Marcos regime.

The 19 names are Sen. Jovito Salonga, founding chairman of the Bantayog ng mga Bayani Foundation;  Letty Jimenez-Magsanoc, late Philippine Daily Inquirer editor-in-chief; Lourdes Estella-Simbulan and Antonio Zumel, journalists; Eduardo Aquino, Fortunato Camus, Edgardo Dojilo, Joel Cecilio Jose, Marciano Anastacio Jr., Ricardo Filio, and Hernando Cortez, youth leaders during martial law; late beauty queen Margarita “Maita” Gomez; Behn Cervantes, director; Simpliciano Villados, labor leader; Danilo Vizmanos and Manuel Dorota, soldiers; Bishop Julio Labayen, Romulo Perala, Jose Tangete, clergy members.

Read Also: Relatives Of Martial Law Plea For SC Verdict On Marcos Burial

The said ceremony seemed to be a reunion of family and friends of the victims of Martial Law.

Among the guests who took the stage several times to honor the new "heroes," were Satur Ocampo, Neri Colmenares, National Democratic Front's (NDF)'s Luis Jalandoni and Benito and Wilma Tiamzon, Social Welfare Secretary Judy Taguiwalo, and National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera.

Vice President Leni Robredo and Sen. Francis Pangilinan also attended the said event.

[Source: GMA Network]